Jersey City Landmarks Conservancy Celebrates 20 Years at the 2019 Preservation Awards Ceremony

Jersey City Landmarks Conservancy 19th Annual Preservation Awards
Jersey City Landmarks Conservancy will host the 19th Annual Preservation Awards Thursday at White Eagle Hall. Image via JC Landmarks Conservancy.

This Thursday, Jersey City Landmarks Conservancy is celebrating 20 years at White Eagle Hall, where they will host its 19th Annual Preservation Awards. The event acknowledges key contributors who help support the preservation of Jersey City’s history and culture, while attendees enjoy live entertainment, food, and drinks.

The event runs from 7-10 p.m. on Thursday, September 19. Tickets can be purchased here.

2019 award recipients are:

Excellence in Preservation Awards
These awards recognize recent restoration, rehabilitation, or adaptive reuse of a building, structure, or object, which exemplifies a high regard for the resource’s historical and architectural integrity.

Dixon Advisory
1 Hampton Court, Jersey City, NJ

Five Star Investment Group, LLC
Paul Del Forno and Vito Del Forno
72 Wayne Street, Jersey City, NJ
Bill Van Ryzin, Architect of Record

Grace Van Vorst Church
39 Erie Street, Jersey City, NJ
LWDMR Architects, Architect of Record

Jersey City Free Public Library
472 Jersey Avenue, Jersey City, NJ
Helena Ruman, Architect of Record

Theodore Conrad Preservationist Award
Named after Jersey City’s late influential preservationist, the Theodore Conrad Preservationist Award recognizes local grassroots historic preservation efforts.

Gregory D. Edgell with the Bergen Arches Preservation Coalition

Jersey City Legend Award
This award recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to Jersey City’s culture, history, and identity.

Earl Morgan, Activist, Journalist, & Scholar
Dennis Doran, Historian and Preservationist

Preservation Initiative Award
This award recognizes the extraordinary efforts of an individual or organization in promoting the protection of Jersey City’s historic resources.

Reverend Jon Brown with Old Bergen Church

J. Owen Grundy History Award
Named after the city’s late historian, the J. Owen Grundy History Award recognizes work that chronicles Jersey City history through a written or visual medium.

Randall Gabrielan, Author & Historian

Master of Architectural Craftsmanship Award
This award recognizes those whose expertise makes the hands-on work of restoration possible.

Ulana Zakalak & Johnny Hilares – Zakalak Restoration Arts

2019 sponsors include:

Platinum Sponsors
Hudson County Office of Cultural and Heritage Affairs

Gold Sponsors
Dixon Leasing / A Division of Dixon Advisory

Silver Sponsors
SILVERMAN / Building Neighborhoods
Zakalak Restoration Arts

Bronze Sponsors
Building Land and Technology (BLT)
Christie Engineering, Structural Engineers
Connell Foley
Hopkins Group, LLC
KRE Group
Matthew Burns, Esquire
Panepinto Properties, Inc.



Have something to add to this story? Email [email protected].

Click here to sign up for Jersey Digs' free emails and news alerts. Stay up-to-date by following Jersey Digs on Twitter and Instagram, and liking us on Facebook.

No posts to display